Too Drunk To Dream

…ain’t no drinking when the bottle’s dry…

Uncle Tupelo kills The Paradise, Boston 1992

“And they don’t tell me which way I oughta run
or what good I could do anyone.
‘Cause my heart it was a gun,
but it’s unloaded now
so don’t bother me now.
Don’t bother

Crawling back to you now
I sold my guitar to the girl next door.
She asked me if I knew how
I told her I don’t think so anymore.”

                                         – Jeff Tweedy on “Gun”

By 1992, Uncle Tupelo had begun to hit the alternative mainstream, selling 15,000 copies of their debut album No Depression based on their reputation for putting a punk rock ethos into the re-telling of old dustbowl tunes. When they hit the studio again, in the summer of 1991, they decided to thwart the expectations of making an “alternative”-style record. When Still Feel Gone hit the press, it had a decidedly heavy, J Mascis sort of feel. I remember reading in the book I Am Trying to Break Your Heart that the band wasn’t extremely happy with the sound, but the album set the stage for a tumultuous 3 years that would find Jay Farrar and Jeff Tweedy at complete odds with one another, resulting in a messy break at the peak of Uncle Tupelo’s grandeur. However you see it, the tension that existed on stage fueled the music.

Today I present to you a great show from The Paradise, a small club on Landsdowne St. in Boston. The band was in town to support Teenage Fanclub (yeah, those guys), and by the end of their short set, it seemed that most patrons were full-on Uncle Tupelo converts. Check out the INSANE cover of Gang Of Four’s “I Found That Essence Rare”, and Neil Young’s “Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere”. It’s no wonder why…


Uncle Tupelo

February 29, 1992

The Paradise, Boston, MA

01 Watch Me Fall (beginning cut)
02 Looking For A Way Out
03 True to Life
04 D.Boon
05 Punch Drunk
06 Still Be Around
07 Postcard
08 Gun
09 Graveyard Shift
10 I Found That Essence Rare
11 Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere

Dowload the whole show, from drop.io, here:

Uncle Tupelo – The Paradise, 2/29/1992

I’ve never heard of drop.io. What the hell is drop.io?
http://ghost-electricity.blogspot.com/2009/02/how-to-use-dropio.html

Firefox users: Drop.io + DownThemAll work together like Franks and Beans

April 17, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

